4 Things I Wish The NICU Nurses Knew

As of today we have been in the NICU for 23 days. I’ve been here at least part of everyday since she was born. Since we’ve been here so long weve had a lot of nurses come in and out. Some of the nurses we have absolutely adored. Some of the other nurses have made me stare at the clock waiting for shift change and hoping we never see them again. Have seen and met so many nurses I’ve learned some things about nurses. I’ve learned that most of these ladies and even a few gentlemen are very devoted to their jobs. They want to see these babies do well and eventually go home. I’ve learned a lot for them because of how much the know, but their are some things I wish they knew that some of them don’t seem aware of.

1. You don’t have to check my facts

I know what is going on with my child. I know what medicines she is on, her goals for feeding volumes and oxygen SATs, how much she usually eats, and even what comes out of her nose. I listen to the doctors when they round and I ask lots of questions, I make sure I understand. I even take notes. I know what they are doing, you don’t have to go call the doctor and make sure I’m right because I’m here enough to know what’s going on. I am not their parent who has their baby and leaves and doesn’t come back until discharge, I know my stuff. 

2. I appreciate when you believe what I have to say

It bothers me when nurses feel like they need to ask the doctor what my child’s norm is but I greatly appreciate when a nurse tells me they know that. Any time a nurse asks me what my daughter usually does it makes me feel like the see I’m just as devoted as they are. I’ve struggled with not feeling like she needs me, especially when I couldn’t even hold her. When the nurses stop and tell me that they know I know her best it helps me to not struggle so much. 

3. We appreciate their hard work

We do appreciate what the nurses do for us. I ask several questions to everyone who comes in, that doesn’t mean I’m question them personally. I ask numerous questions because I want to know what is being done with my daughter and especially why that is being done with her. 

4. Don’t make assumptions

Don’t assume my girl can’t do something because other babies can’t do (fill in the blank). My baby is her own person with her own personality. Just because smaller babies. Bigger babies, babies with DS, babies with an AV Canal defect need to be treated one way doesn’t mean she does. Don’t approach her situation like she is someone else. If you normally do one certain think with a similar baby but it doesn’t work for her then we need to find a different answer. 

We’ve met some wonderful ladies (haven’t met any male nurses) whom we will be sad to say goodbye to. We’ve met nurses we will be more then glad to say goodbye to. Weather I liked them or not I still appreciate what they do because regardless about how I feel they are all here doing the same thing and that is taking care of my daughter until she is ready to come home. 

Leave a Reply

